Official Website for Monroe County, Iowa

Monroe County, Iowa - Treasurer

Duties and Responsibilities

The Treasurer is responsible for the receipt, management, disbursement, financial reporting, bonds and investment of all monies paid to the County and serves as agent for the State of Iowa Department of Transportation and Iowa Department of Revenue and Finance.


The Treasurer compiles composite reports from individual record books to general ledgers: reviews and reconciles receipts, bills, and cash received to assure accuracy of figures to prevent discrepancies and financial loss. In addition, the Treasurer categorizes, indexes, files and deposits materials, forms and monies received to assure public funds are administered properly.


The Treasurer is responsible for the proper receipt, accounting and disbursement of county funds within proper policies established by the State of Iowa, Monroe County Board of Supervisors and corporate and unincorporated taxing entities for adequate financial control.

Financial Management Responsibilities
Real Estate Division Duties
Motor Vehicle Division Duties
Driver's License Division Duties
Collection of Property Taxes
Property Tax Payments
Notice of Delinquent Taxes
Tax Sale
Office Hours

Treasurer's Office Contact Information

Monroe County Courthouse

10 Benton Ave East

Albia Iowa, 52531

For hours of operation, see above.

Phone Number: 641-932-5011  

Fax Number: 641-932-5351

Treasurer: Cheryl Chambers

Tax Deputy:  Gail Gutcher

DL Deputy: Jill Lathrop 

MV Deputy: Faith Powless