The Monroe County, Iowa Board of Supervisors consists of three members elected at large. The Board of Supervisors is the legislative body of the county.

  Monroe County, Iowa - Board of Supervisors

Supervisor’s Meetings are held on Tuesdays at 9:30 a.m. in the Boardroom on the first floor of the courthouse.
ITS READY – We are pleased and excited to announce that the Monroe County Plat Book is ready and can now be purchased. You can buy them at the Engineer’s Office, Third Floor of the Courthouse. The cost is $20.00 + $3.00 postage (if mailed). Stop by to purchase one anytime.

About The Board
The Board of Supervisors has both legislative and administrative powers and is the policy-making body for Monroe County government. With its authority to adopt legislation and policies for department operations, the Board sets priorities, allocates resources and maintains budgetary control.

The budget process is the most important power of the Board. By using the budget process effectively, the Board is able to monitor and correct inefficiencies in all organizational units, including elected departments, quasi-government organizations, and administrative departments.

In addition to these responsibilities, the Board of Supervisors promotes and facilitates various cooperative efforts among and between other government entities and jurisdictions. Most importantly, the Board is available to its constituency and can respond to issues of importance to citizens. The Board also appoints individuals or serves on a number of Boards and Commissions that affect all aspects of Monroe County operations.

The duties of the Board of Supervisors can be found throughout Chapter 331 in the Code of Iowa.

Monroe County Courthouse
10 Benton Ave E
Albia IA 52531

Meeting Hours:
Tuesday - 9:30am

Phone Number:

FAX Number:

County Supervisors:
 Dennis Amoss - Chair
John Hughes
Mike Beary

Board of Supervisors Forms:
Downloadable forms
used in the Board of Supervisors office

Board of Supervisors Links:
Safety and Security

Iowa State Association of Counties (ISAC)

National Association of Counties

Links to Iowa Resources

City Hall - Albia, Iowa

Cannon - Lovilia, Iowa

Georgetown Park - Melrose, Iowa

Scenery along County Road H16